Skip to Main Content
Back to New Releases

Veteran NASA Astronauts David Hilmers and Marsha Ivins Inducted Into U. S. Astronaut Hall of Fame® at Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex

Click HERE for Images

Veteran NASA astronauts David Hilmers and Marsha Ivins were inducted today into the prestigious U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame – marking the 25th class of honorees to join the esteemed society.

The ceremony was held at Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex, set against the awe-inspiring backdrop of the space shuttle Atlantis. Hilmers and Ivins were honored for their outstanding accomplishments in furthering NASA’s mission of exploration and discovery. Their induction brings the total number of astronauts in the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame to 109.

Delivering remarks to officially welcome the astronauts to the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame were Curt Brown, board chairman of the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation, which stewards the selection process each year; Therrin Protze, chief operating officer of Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex, home of the Hall of Fame; and Kim Carter, Kennedy Space Center’s Director, Center Engagement & Business Integration Services. More than 15 other veteran astronauts, many of whom also have been inducted into the hall of fame, attended the ceremony.

“Both Hilmers and Ivins embody the bravery, spirit of adventure and passion for discovery that are essential to excel in the space program,” said Brown “Given their distinguished careers in the industry, it is only natural for them to join the ranks of the space pioneers honored in the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame at Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex.”    

Both Hilmers and Ivins had careers with NASA beyond the time they served as astronauts, with Hilmers working with NASA for 12 years, and Ivins for 37 years. Each has continued to work in their respective fields with a focus on their love of space and science. More information on their distinguished careers can be found here.

U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction Process and Eligibility

Each year, inductees are selected by a committee of Hall of Fame astronauts, former NASA officials, flight directors, historians and journalists. The process is administered by the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation. To be eligible, an astronaut must have made his or her first flight at least 17 years before the induction. Candidates must be a U.S. citizen and a NASA-trained commander, pilot or mission specialist who has orbited the earth at least once.